Introduction to Hiragana series – た, ち, つ, て, と – Ta, Chi, Tsu, Te, and To

  1. The T Hiragana characters

In the previous post you have just learnt さ、し、す、せ、そ – Sa, Shi, Su, Se, and So.  Now we'll look at た, ち, つ, て, と - Ta, Chi, Tsu, Te, and To.


た – ta

Mnemonic: た for ta (thank you)

ta ta-mnemonics

ち – chi

Mnemonic: ち for cheeky beaver

chi chi-mnemonics


つ – tsu

Mnemonic: つ for tsunami

tsu tsu-nmenonics

て– te

Mnemonic: て for ten ten

te te-mnemonics

と– to

Mnemonic: と tick tock goes the clock

to to-mnemonics


  1. Additional resources

The following resources is what I used in conjunction with these mnemonics, so be sure to check them out:.


Next up is な、に、ぬ、ね、の - Na, Ni, Nu, Ne, and No

Join the Writing in Japanese community for the latest posts, updates and learning resources

Leave a comment