Introduction to Hiragana series – ら、り、る、れ、ろ – Ra, Ri, Ru, Re, and Ro

1. The R Hiragana characters

In the previous post you have just learnt や、ゆ、よ - Ya, Yu, and Yo. Today we'll look at ら、り、る、れ、ろ - Ra, Ri, Ru, Re, and Ro


ら – Ra

Mnemonic: ら for rubber duck

ra ra-mnemonics

り – Ri

Mnemonic: り for coral reef

ri ri-mnemonics

る – Ru

Mnemonics: る for Kangeroo

ru ru-mnemonics

れ – Re

Mnemonics: れ for ship wreck

re re-mnemonics

ろ – Ro

Mnemonics: ろ for rocking chair

ro ro-mnemonics

2. Additional resources

The following resources is what I used in conjunction with these mnemonics, so be sure to check them out:.

The next set of characters is わ、を - Wa, and Wo

Join the Writing in Japanese community for the latest posts, updates and learning resources

Leave a comment