Introduction to Hiragana series – な、に、ぬ、ね、の – Na, Ni, Nu, Ne, and No

1. The N Hiragana characters

In the previous post you have just learnt た, ち, つ, て, と - Ta, Chi, Tsu, Te, and To.  Now we'll look at な、に、ぬ、ね、の  - Na, Ni, Nu, Ne, and No.


な – na

Mnemonic: な for nuptial

na na-mnemonics

に – ni

Mnemonic: に for stitching needle

ni ni-mnemonics

ぬ – nu

Mnemonic: ぬ for yummy noodles

nu nu-mnenmonics

ね – ne

Mnemonic: ね for bird nest

ne ne-mnemonics

の – no

Mnemonics: の for tie a knot

no no-mnemonics


  1. Additional resources

The following resources is what I used in conjunction with these mnemonics, so be sure to check them out:.


Next up is は、ひ、ふ、へ、ほ - Ha, Hi, Fu, He, and Ho


Join the Writing in Japanese community for the latest posts, updates and learning resources

Leave a comment