Introduction to Hiragana series – ま、み、む、め、も – Ma, Mi, Mu, Me, and Mo

1. The M Hiragana characters
In the previous post you have just learnt は、ひ、ふ、へ、ほ - Ha, Hi, Fu, He, and Ho.  Today we'll look at ま、み、む、め、も - Ma, Mi, Mu, Me and Mo.


ま – Ma

Mnemonic: ま for mask

ma ma-mnemonics

み – Mi

Mnemonic: み for meow my whisker fell off

mi mi-mnemonics

む – Mu

Mnemonic: む for Moonboots

mu mu-mnemonics

め – Me

Mnemonic: め for Mexico

me me-mnemonics

も – Mo

Mnemonics: も for hideous monster

mo mo-mnemonics

2. Additional resources
The following resources is what I used in conjunction with these mnemonics, so be sure to check them out:.

Next up is  や、ゆ、よ - Ya, Yu, and Yo.

Join the Writing in Japanese community for the latest posts, updates and learning resources

Leave a comment